Underage Possession of Alcohol in VA
May 8, 2020
If you possess alcohol in Virginia and are under the age of 21, then you could face criminal charges. Because a criminal conviction can have significant consequences, you should seek out the assistance of the Fairfax VA criminal defense attorneys from Rudolphi Law. We can provide legal advice and representation.
What is the law for underage possession of alcohol in Virginia?
The crime of minor in possession of alcohol includes purchasing, possessing, or consuming an alcoholic beverage. A person can be charged with this offense even if there is no proof of actual consumption. Mere possession of alcohol could result in charges.
What are the potential penalties?
A person who is convicted of underage possession of alcohol in VA faces a fine between $500 to $2500, up to 12 months in jail and a 6-month driver’s license suspension. A court may place you on probation and require certain substance abuse treatment, such as classes or evaluations. The facts of the case and other circumstances will determine the exact sentence that will be imposed.
What should you do if charged with underage possession?
If you are charged with underage possession, you should contact a criminal defense attorney as soon as possible. A lawyer will help you understand your rights and explain how the process works. A lawyer will also review your case to identify any possible defenses. If there are defenses or factors to reduce the severity of the charges, then an attorney will pursue those options and strive to help you receive a fair result.
Because a conviction for underage possession of alcohol can have significant consequences and become part of your record, you should seek out advice and representation from a lawyer. The Fairfax VA criminal defense attorneys from Rudolphi Law are experienced and understand how to successfully defend someone. Contact us to learn how we can help.