If the Other Driver is Never Found After a Hit and Run, what Happens?
February 16, 2021
Hit and run is a common occurrence in different parts of the country including Virginia. Sometimes it can be difficult to hold accountable a driver who escapes after an accident. There will be no one to take to court or pay for your compensation.
One of the first things you should do after such an accident is to contact a criminal defense lawyer Fairfax VA. Do not leave the scene unless you have been badly injured.
For this reason, every state has laws to take care of such situations. According to Virginia’s laws, hit and run is a criminal offense where a person leaves or escapes from the scene of an accident without giving the other driver his or her insurance details.
The hit and run will be considered as a Misdemeanor criminal offense if the damage caused to a vehicle after the accident is less than $1000. On the other hand, if the damage to the vehicle after an accident is more than $1000, then the hit and run will be counted as a Felony offense.
Many hit and run suspects and victims make the mistake of panicking on scene due to not knowing how to handle a hit and run situation. There are certain things that you are not supposed to do after a hit and run accident, one of them is leaving the scene without contacting the police or exchanging personal details with the other victim.
It doesn’t matter whether you were at fault or not, ensure that you remain on the scene until the police arrive. The other thing you can do is to call a traffic lawyer Fairfax VA.
Virginia penalties for hit and run include fines, incarceration, and restitution. Hit and run of property or a car that’s parked at the time of the accident is considered a Misdemeanor criminal offense. Any person found guilty of this offense can be charged up to 12 months in jail, restitution, and a fine of up to $2,500.
In many types of hit and run, the court has a right to suspend your driver’s license if convicted. But an experienced Fairfax traffic lawyer can influence the court’s decision using strong evidence.
Penalties for hit and run in Virginia
There are different types of hit and run charges that you can face for leaving the accident scene without providing your insurance details to the other party. Below are some of the penalties starting to from the most serious to the less serious:
Class 5 felony
Under this penalty, a driver can be punished for up to 10 years in cases where the accident caused over $1000 in damage to property, injury, or death.
Class 1 Misdemeanor
The driver is liable for punishment of up to 12 months in jail if the vehicle involved was attended and the value of damaged was less than $1000. These serious exampled are why you need a criminal lawyer Fairfax VA.
Class 4 Misdemeanor
Here, the driver is only punished by a fine in case the property or vehicle was unattended and the damage to property is below $250.
Importance of a Fairfax criminal attorney Hit and run laws are complex. They require a Virginia criminal defense attorney with adequate experience to argue your case in court. Rudolphi Law is will help you with any issues concerning hit and run accidents.